Villa Review For Coral Harbor

John F
Emerald Isle ,

Exactly Like the Pictures; "Into the Mystic/Coral Harbor"

Rated  54321  Submitted  April 09 2013  Stayed  January 2013

My wife and I are individuals who usually are hesitant to consider basing our selection of travel/accommodations on recommendations or reviews online. However, this one is spot on and working with Romantic Luxury Villas was a wonderful and reassuring experience. We chose this by searching online for our honeymoon, I was thousands of miles away with limited internet due to a deployment in the military as I planned this romantic and surreal vacation. Romantic Luxury Villas and specifically working with Bruce was an experience that made every penny spent and every detail highlighted right on the mark. From the overwhelming access to information and the personal and professional interaction with Bruce initially sold us/me with booking through Romantic Villas. We chose the "Into the Mystic/Coral Harbor Villa." In one wording "Exceptional." The pictures listed on their website for this exact villa are completely spot on. Unbelievably realistic and exact. The pictures are as beautiful as the location and villa. Every detail was not spared. Once we arrived in St John we were immediately picked up at the ferry and taken to the villa by the actual villa owner Sharon. She took care of us from day 1 through the week we were there. Very engaging, knowledgable, and respectable. She is literally concerned that you enjoy your time there and it's a memorable experience. Her house has everything you would need to include some food (which was unexpected). The island is amazing, the house was amazing, all the people we interacted with were amazing. It was by far better than we could have imagined! I will definitely use Romantic Luxury Villas again, Bruce and Sharon will hear from us again! We are completely satisfied beyond expectation. I am usually hesitant to fill out a review or blog because I never really believe them. But believe this one! Contact Romantic Luxury Villas and ask for Bruce, he will take care of you, and if you need reassurance tell Bruce to give you my information to contact. I am only a customer and now a proponent and outright advocate of Romantic Luxury Villas!

Villa Review For Villa Solemare

Dr. Howard Eisenberg
Newmarket (Note: Located in Ontario, Canada),NY

A fantasy come true.

Rated  54321  Submitted  April 02 2013  Stayed  February 2013

We recently had the privilege of being able to rent one of the 'Romantic Luxury Villas' - "Villa Solemare", in St. John's. It was like being in a Hollywood fantasy set! We were also very appreciative of the unusual quality of considerateness & assistance from our Renal Agent - Bruce VandenBroucke

Villa Review For Coral Harbor

Guest

"The 'Has it All' Vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2012

We love St. John and we LOVED this villa. Everything was perfect - the views of Coral Bay from the large veranda (w/ really comfy furniture), beautifully stocked kitchen for people who love to cook (including a great grill), beautiful and comfortable furnishings throughout. They even had everything for our daily beach outings (a different beach every day because you can do that on St. John!) including folding beach chairs (w/ backpack straps), small coolers, floaties, beach towels, even sunscreen and insect repellent). Washer and dryer; internet, cable, lots of movies and games. Truly, it felt like home if home could ever be on this magnificent island. We truly appreciated every little detail. Truly special villa and Sharon was very accessible and eager to help make our trip comfortable and memorable.

Villa Review For Coral Harbor

Guest

"Even more beautiful in person"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2012

My husband and I spent our belated honeymoon in St. John, and our stay at Into the Mystic was perfect. The property was spotless upon our arrival, and had everything we needed and more - there were so many extra touches throughout the villa, and Sharon (owner) gave us lots of tips re places to eat and see, and things to do. The snorkeling on St. John was fantastic (favorite snorkeling spots were Honeymoon/Solomon's Beaches), and we went on some great hikes (Rams Head is a good workout!). Favorite places to eat - Aqua Bistro and Shipwreck's Landing in Coral Bay, and High Tide in Cruz Bay. Just can't say enough wonderful things about the island or the villa - we will be going back, and we won't even bother looking into other rentals - Into the Mystic is where we'll be.

Villa Review For Coral Harbor

Guest

"Heavenly"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2011

This property is outstanding! Stayed for a week with our two college age daughters; we all loved it! The views of Coral Bay and the surrounding islands are spectacular from every window and balcony. The interior decor is very cozy and modern. Coral Bay is on the quiet side of St John, but only a short drive to many great snorkeling spots! Great open-air restaurants nearby. This property exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again!

Villa Review For Coral Harbor

Guest

"Like Paradise"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2010

How do you improve on paradise! Take the most beautiful island in the world and add the best accomodations possible. We had been to St. John before so we knew how amazing the island was, but the difference this time was "Into the Mystic". One could not ask for a better view from the pool, deck, or hot tub of Coral Bay. With as much deck area outside as living space inside, we were able to enjoy the island as never before. The layout of the villa lent itself to accomodating both couples. The master bedroom suite was a private get-away as was the lower level apartment for the second couple. The spacious living room and large flat screen TV along with the gourmet kichen made for great together times. It was even nicer than it looked on HGTV. At the base of the road to the villa is a small shopping area including a grocery store and bar/restuarant with fantastic BBC's. There are other restuarants and bars close by to choose from, also. We can't wait to return

Villa Review For Maria’s Bluff

Guest

" A slice of heaven"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2011

Our week was flawless. The staff was so accommodating, and friendly. The resort was top notch with every possible amenity. It was our first time to St John and we wouldnt think of staying anywhere else. Cant wait to go back.

Villa Review For Maria’s Bluff

Guest

"Pure Lux"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2011

Private taxi from airport, then private water taxi to St. John, made the delayed flight from New York tolerable. Arrived throught the gates and entered a stress free oasis. caretakers outstanding, sleeping suites unique and comfortable, viewing room, kitchen, state of the art. Hummingbirds, sunshine, island breeze, views galor The only negative was leaving

Villa Review For Maria’s Bluff

Guest

"The villa stay of a lifetime"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2012

The location and views at the summit overlooking Chocolate Hole, as well as its design, furnishings, appointments, amenities, service staff, etc, are all nonpareil. We have been to St. John more than ten times, always as villa renters and always looking to find something more special than the last. Our stay there in December 2010 with our chikdren and grandchildren, twelve in all, in spacious and luxurious accommodations, was the vacation of a lifetime. From the greeting at the airport in St. Thomas, the private launch trip from Red Hook, being met by Adrian at Government Dock in Cruz Bay to the first sight oohs and aahs of my children and grandchildren at the even more perfect reality than is depicted by its internet pictures, the experience is a once in a lifetime indulgence. The pool, hot tub, movie theater, billiard room and gardens are all rather well depicted and the kitchen is outfitted with every appliance, utensil, gadget and the like that a gastronome could dream of and it has a gas cook top. This is without doubt the finest Caribbean vacation home I have ever seen

Villa Review For Panoramic

Guest

"A wonderful stay for our first family vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  October 2012

My wife and I brought our daughter (born last October) to St. John for our first family vacation. I can't imagine a better house for us. The bedrooms are air conditioned so we didn't have to worry about the little one getting too hot at night. The pool is HUGE and was great to have because the beaches were choppy...

Villa Review For Panoramic

Guest

"Truly Almost Heaven"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  July 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful vacation to St. John. The Villa is stunning with amazing views of Coral Bay and Tortola, BVI. The photos do not do it justice, the Villa has fantastic local art work and exquisite stone masonry throughout. The screened veranda's allowed the family to dine outside, have coffee in the morning and a drink at night all while enjoying the spectacular view and breezes. The Clancy's showed their desire to take care of their guests every need with the Keurig, shower stool for our elderly mother, and all of the simple things one would expect at home (laundry, beach chairs, coolers, pool floats, etc.). The kitchen and grill were amazing, allowing us to cook meals in the comfort of this beautiful Villa. We enjoyed the huge pool and the hot tub every day, and the two outdoor showers allowed us to rinse off after coming in from the spectacular island beaches. A special thank you to the Owner's for sharing this incredible villa.

Villa Review For Panoramic

Guest

"As close to heaven as you can get"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  July 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful return to St. John. Almost Heaven is stunning and filled with special little details like the beautiful local art and stone masonry. Little things like plastic containers and covers, baggies, and laundry and dish washing soap really made us feel at home and showed the Clancy's desire to take care of their guests every need. There was even a Keurig! We were greeted to a stunning view morning, noon and night. The pool is huge and the hot tub was enjoyed many times a day.

Villa Review For Peter Bay Leeward

Guest

"World class villa at Peter Bay on St. John"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2012

For those looking for a world class villa in the Caribbean you will not be disappointed. One of the many amenities that sets this villa apart from many on St. John is it's private access to a beach simply by walking down a stone stairway. No driving to a beach. It is also in a gated community for security, not that a lot of security is required on St. John and it is a short drive to either Cruz Bay or Coral Bay. The villa has a huge porch overlooking both Peter and Cinnamon Bays and has the most beautiful sunrises you will ever see.

Villa Review For Skytop

Guest

"Better than expected"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2012

This was our fifth trip and by far the best house we have stayed at. Sitting on the side of this mountain and watching the world go by was heaven. Loved this part of the island, close to town but removed. quiet, well appointed, good beds and linens, good wireless and at&T; phone service. Michael the owner was a pleasure, he was available to take care of minor issues and respectful of our privacy. I hope we have the opportunity to stay at Palm Vista again and would highly recommend it.

Villa Review For Skytop

Guest

"Amazing Family Vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  July 2012

This property is truly a gem. The layout and construction of the Villa is great - plenty of space to spend time together or find a corner to be alone. Lots of attention to detail - great beds and mattresses, beautiful showers, well-appointed kitchen, etc. The view is unparalleled - the positioning of the villa on the island affords it a truly spectacular view of both sunrise and sunset. Night sky viewing is great as well - the property is located away from the main areas of the island minimizing "light pollution" for star gazing. Mike is a great host, very accommodating and eager to offer recommendations to make a great trip. You can't go wrong picking this property, and we'll be eagerly looking forward to a future return trip.

Villa Review For Skytop

Guest

"Amazing House with unbeatable views"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2012

We stayed a week and and loved it. The house is nicely designed and decorated, and very well maintained. The view from the veranda is incredible, overlooking several bays, and made a perfect spot for eating and morning yoga. Killer sunsets, too. Location is great -- just far enough out of town for privacy and quiet, but close enough to get to shopping and beaches with a short drive. Michael, the owner, is terrific and was very helpful during our stay, including meeting us at the ferry upon arrival and making great beach and restaurant recommendations; and I particularly enjoyed the visits from Shawmos, his super cool dog. Overall, a terrific villa!

Villa Review For Skytop

Guest

"Sweeping views"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2011

We rented in early November 2011, for two couples. I would rent this again just for the views over both Fish Bay and Reef Bay from the east side of Fish Bay, which were some of the best we have found in our 20+ years of renting on St. John. The roads to the villa are good, although the last half mile is an exhilarating zig zag climb up the side of the mountain! The location was relaxing, with no traffic, friendly but quiet neighbors who are full time residents, and a cute dog visitor. The villa was relatively new, and nicely furnished, with comfortable beds. We wondered whether the pool would get enough sun, but it was sunny all day until late afternoon, and sheltered from the occasional winds. The villa has a comfortable and shaded outdoor table on a nice veranda, but a smallish living area and no indoor dining table, although a standup bar could serve as a small table if there were bar stools. Best for couples who want to hang out at the pool. The owner was very friendly and accommodating.

Villa Review For Southshore

Guest

"Simply Perfect"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2012

My wife and I selected this villa because of the great reviews and the beautiful photos on the website. We were simply awestruck from the time we walked thru the door of this beautiful well appointed villa. This was our third visit to St. John and easily our most favorite. All of the rooms were spacious, and decorated in true Caribbean "style" which only added to the experience. The villa is very open yet warm and cozy. My wife and I soon found our favorite spots to sit and enjoy the spectacular views, whether it was relaxing on chaises on the beautiful pool deck area or enjoying the view out the wall of windows in the living area. My wife and I felt that there was plenty of room for each of us to have our own "space". The view, the accommodations, the close access to beaches and Cruz Bay…I could go on forever. We will definitely recommend to friends and family, and hope to visit this beautiful villa again and again. Simply perfect.

Villa Review For Grand Cruz

Guest

"Your place is incredible"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2012

Just got back yesterday from the beautiful island of St. John! I wanted to thank you for renting your beautiful condo to us while we were there! Your place is incredible...We didn't want to leave! Enjoy your time over there, I know we did!

Villa Review For Grand Cruz

Guest

"Awesome Sunsets"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2011

Thanks for allowing us to enjoy your “home away from home.” It is just fabulous! From Sunrise to the awesome sunsets, both enjoyed from your balcony. Thanks for the welcome spices. We used them throughout the year and have wonderful memories of St. John. Hope you both have a wonderful year! Until next time.

Villa Review For Grand Cruz

Guest

"Comfortable, Private, 5 stars"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  July 2011

Me and my fiance stayed here July 2nd-9th. We enjoyed every minute spent on the beautiful island of St. John, from the moment we arrived on St. John (Steve & Lisa, property managers) greeted us with warm smiles & we grabbed some drinks @ one of the local bars. They familiarized us with the island & even took us for a tour of the island showing us where everything was. We walked to St John Car Rental (stjohncarrental.com) from the condo & were able to explore the island at our ease (definitely rent a car for your duration) The condo was very nicely furnished, including wireless internet & gas grill (on a beautiful deck) I would highly recommend staying on this property as we had no complaints!

Villa Review For Caneel Hill

Guest

Perfect!!

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2012

I don't normally write letters like this, however, I just wanted to thank you for making your home available. We have been coming to St. John for 17 years. Your home is the best place we have ever stayed. The views are spectacular. Pictures do not do the views justice. Everything about your home was perfect...the decorating, the artwork, the design!!!

Villa Review For Caneel Hill

Atlanta, GA
Atlanta,GA

We have finally found the island and the villa that absolutely DEMAND that we return next year

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2011

"My wife and I have been renting villas in the Caribbean for many years now. After much searching, we have finally found the island and the villa that absolutely DEMAND that we return next year - to this amazing villa on the island of St John. Let me start with the villa. This is the most amazing villa we have ever stayed in. No detail has been left to chance. It starts with the VIEW from one of the highest and most private hillsides on the island. 270 degree views of St Thomas and the Caribbean from just about everywhere in the house. Unobstructed views of a fiery sunset every night. There is no need to head to an island restaurant or bar to catch the sunset. Just have a glass of wine and watch from your own pool. The house itself is exquisite. Travertine tile everywhere. A gourmet kitchen and outdoor grill for cooking romantic meals. Beautiful granite countertops. A sensuous outdoor shower. Your own heated swimming pool. Flat screen TVs with satellite dish. An ipod docking station. A CD player. WIFI throughout the house and out by the pool as well. And all of this is located just a short 5 minute drive to the restaurants and night life of Cruz Bay and 10 minutes from the amazing north shore beaches. On the other hand, you may choose to never leave your villa. Everything is right there for you. This multimillion dollar villa will absolutely amaze even the most discerning travelers. And in the unlikely event something is not to your liking, your gracious hostess will do everything in her power to take care of it right away. CD player not working propertly? She installed a brand new one the very next day. The pool not warm enough? She will turn up the heater a few degrees for you. Can't light the gas grill? She even sent her husband over to light it for me. (it was working fine, I just was not very skilled in lighting it). We definitely hope to return next year. And for many years thereafter. We literally felt as if we were living the life of a movie star featured on "The "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous". My wife and I cannot possibly recommend this place highly enough."

Villa Review For Claret

Santa Fe, CA
Santa Fe,CA

"Magical Getaway"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2009

This villa is absolutely spectacular! Everything from the transportation, the home, views and service are all top notch! The setting is ideal, with amazing views. Each room of this huge home is generous and most rooms have views of Peter Bay. The quality and resources put into this home is evident in every respect. The layout is wonderful and there are numerous decks with comfy beautiful furniture to relax and enjoy. The pool and jacuzzi are amazing and overlook the bay. There is even an outdoor bar to serve refreshments. The service is great when you are greated at the ferry landing and everything is meticulous in the home. Staying at this home is the treat of a lifetime!

Villa Review For E.Upper Peter Bay

Unknown, TX

"E. Upper Peter Bay"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2012

Everything we expected. Beautiful pool, great views, friendly villa manager. I would definitely love to return.

Villa Review For Sea Splendor

Guest

"I had the time of my life here"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  September 2010

St. John itself is simply gorgeous. The culture is intriguing; the people are so interesting; and the island is always teeming with energy. When you're in such a beautiful place the last thing you want is poor conditions as far as the place you are staying. With this villa, I guarantee you will not be dissatisfied. My family has been doing the St. John trip since long before I was born and we always stay at Seacove. We are family friends with the owners and they enjoy the villa as much as anyone else! The views are amazing. Also, there is enough space for my large family. The work and cleaning crew is amazing, too! Whenever my family thinks it's time to go on vacation, we end up at St. John in the villa, and we never regret it. You won't, either.

Villa Review For Mountain Breeze

Guest

"Wonderful Place. Wonderful time"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2012

We stayed here to attend our son's wedding. The villa needed to accomodate family and extended family, getting ready for the big event and getting together during "honeymoon time" after the wedding proper. It could not have worked out better. There are 4 equal bedroom, each with its own individual touches. We prepared meals for big groups with out any fuss or bother. Yet, there was plenty of room to get away to nap or read. Because of the way the bedrooms are laid out, I think this villa would work as well for 2 people or 8. The pool was great, particularly while waiting for the sleepy members of the party to wake up. The view from the decks is wonderful. I really like the Coral Bay side of the island(but do your food shopping at Starfish in Cruz Bay). Coral Bay is less busy and is much closer to the wonderful beaches. My husband and I hadn't been to STJ since 1990 and were worried that the island might have changed completely. It was a lot busier, but the charm and the special STJ vibe are still the same.

Villa Review For Southshore

Guest

"Great spot"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  September 2012

My wife and I selected this villa because of the great reviews and the beautiful photos on the website. We were simply awestruck from the time we walked thru the door of this beautiful well appointed villa. This was our third visit to St. John and easily our most favorite. All of the rooms were spacious, and decorated in true Caribbean "style" which only added to the experience. The villa is very open yet warm and cozy. My wife and I soon found our favorite spots to sit and enjoy the spectacular views, whether it was relaxing on chaises on the beautiful pool deck area or enjoying the view out the wall of windows in the living area. My wife and I felt that there was plenty of room for each of us to have our own "space". The view, the accommodations, the close access to beaches and Cruz Bay…I could go on forever. We will definitely recommend to friends and family, and hope to visit this beautiful villa again and again.

Villa Review For Southshore

Guest

"Our honeymoon stay"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2012

Our honeymoon stay was beyond our expectations. WE love the villa and the grounds, truly beautiful. We even got a visitor from one of the local tree lizards on the deck by the pool..it was awesome!! We are amazed by the beaches. Our favorite was Salt Pond and after a stop at Skinny Legs for lunch. The views are amazing and we hope to be back soon. : )

Villa Review For Southshore

Guest

"What a wonderful honeymoon"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2012

What a wonderful honeymoon we've had herel. We were able to completely relax & enjoy ourselves in your lovely home & decadent pool. St. John was the perfect choice for our honeymoon & everything here on the island was more beautiful & tranquil than we could have imagined. Thanks for the welcome basket of rum & goodies & all your great suggestions for food and beaches. The snorkeling was fantastic & the sky divine at sunset & at night. We hope to return for an anniversary in the near future.

Villa Review For Vivid

Guest

"Smartly designed, spacious, luxurious"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2012

The week I recently spent with friends at this beautiful Villa was one of the best vacations I’ve ever taken. Tucked away in a private corner of Rendezvous Bay--just a 10 minute drive to Cruz Bay, balancing accessibility and convenience with lavish seclusion. With six bedrooms and nearly 10,000 square feet of space, the resort comfortably accommodated our group of seven guests. I found the villa to have everything we needed, and we even elected to spend a couple days of our 8-day trip hanging out at Mare Blu instead of going to one of the many neighboring beaches. Among the many smartly designed areas of the villa, I found the pool area to be my favorite part the house. With a fridge, ice machine and HDTV located in an outdoor lounge area, we had access to everything we needed just a few steps away from the pool. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and uniquely themed with some of the rooms boasting outdoor showers. We cooked dinner several nights in the kitchen, which had modern top-of-the line appliances and a cozy outdoor dining area. This villa really has it all, and I echo the other reviews when I say you will not be disappointed. It's the ultimate Caribbean resort and the ideal way to spend your vacation in St. John

Villa Review For Vivid

Astoria, NY
Astoria,NY

"Oppulence"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2012

I went here for a week with my friends, and it just blew all my expectations away. I had seen the pictures on the internet, and expected the place to be good. But this place was perfect in every way. It is an amazing villa that has an awesome view of Rendezvous Bay with all the facilities you can possibly need when you’re on vacation. Whether you want to doze off on the floats, watch TV in the pool, or have dinner in the outdoor dining room. Each bedroom is like a room in a five-star hotel, everything is new and made from the best materials. It’s located a short drive away from the main town on the island and getting places was easy by car. Everything that St. John has to offer - lots of sun, un crowded beautiful beaches, hiking and snorkeling, and enjoying a nice cocktail with a fabulous view – is complemented and made better by having your own luxurious place to make the experience perfect.

Villa Review For Vivid

Tega Cay, SC
Tega Cay,SC

"Perfection"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2012

If we were told we could use only one word to describe our experience at here … it would be "perfect"! The owners have successfully incorporated the beauty, colors, and cheerfulness of the Caribbean in every room of this incredibly thought-out house. Comfort and uniqueness abound in the decor-each room is amazingly private, yet there are incredible open and inviting areas for gatherings, all with the most incredible views. Every detail has been provided for, and once you've done a little grocery shopping, you literally do not ever have to leave the house! The location is a huge plus-most everything is within easy driving distance. An ideal setting for that special event or occasion, and we highly recommend it for guaranteed memories of a lifetime!

Villa Review For Vivid

Charlotte, NC
Charlotte,NC

"Your own private resort"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  July 2010

St. John has been our favorite vacation spot for many years, but this was our first home rental. It was beyond our expectations! We highly recommend Mare Blu - every detail thought of for your maximum comfort, and an exceptional view from every room. Our family did not want to leave & can't wait to get back. You will be well taken care of by the property managers/staff and the owners are truly interested in guests enjoying their home. An easy drive to any place you might want to go, but you won't want to leave often or for very long! This is a very special gathering spot for a family or a group of friends. It is a place to make wonderful memories!

Villa Review For Dorothea North

Dallas, TX
Dallas,TX

"Spectacular"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2010

After staying here St. Thomas, I don't understand why anyone would stay at a hotel or anywhere else! The villa was located in a quiet, beautiful part of the island that is a tropical paradise. It is surrounded by lush tropical plants, flowers, fruit trees, and every kind of palm tree you can imagine. The accommodations are perfect for two couples going on vacation together...the separate buildings allow for total privacy for everyone. The place is immaculate, and very tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable, and both of the showers are huge! Everything you could ever need is stocked in the kitchen...just buy your main ingredients and you're ready! The villa is also located close to two excellent restaurants: 13 and the Northside Bistro. The view of the ocean is breathtaking, and the pool even has a waterfall. Tell Sherri that Susan from Dallas sent you! You won't be disappointed.

Villa Review For Peterborg North

Guest

"Lovely home with a wonderful view, great pool and worth the visit."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2012

A lovely home with great character and charm. We truly enjoyed our time there and spent most of the week at home by the pool reading and relaxing. The kitchen has every possible pot, pan utensil and appliance I could ever think of - way more than we needed for our simple meals. We grilled out mostly. The house is nicely furnished and everything seemed in great condition. The views are spectacular with nice sunrise and sunset views. The pool was very refreshing to slip into when it got hot, but being up on the hill there was always a nice breeze. The property is completely private once you are up on the deck so you will not be disturbed by anyone. There is a generator on the property - this was handy as the power did seem to go on and off. However, the generator kicked in immediately and we never noticed it. The driveway is fun! Back in or pull in - that is the question. We tried it both ways and in the end I think pulling in and backing out worked best...

Villa Review For Yachtman's

Guest

"The home was amazing."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2013

Just got back from St. Thomas with the family and had the best vacation EVER! there were 10 of us (mom, dad, me, fiance, 80+ year old grandma, aunt, family friends, their daughter and her fiance). Everyone had th best time. We stayed at this villa near Red Hook. Rented the villa (great house). The home was amazing. best views i've ever seen. Home overlooked Ritz Carlton bay, and St. John. The road getting to the house was less desired (dirt bumpy road), but had a blast offroading in a minivan with 6 people. Who says those soccer mom vans can't go offroading? BS!

Villa Review For Charlotte

Guest

"Our stay"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2010

AMAZING, AWSOME, WONDERFUL!! High View is the perfect retreat for a large family or four couples. It\'s conveniently located, immaculate, has a well-stocked kitchen with everything you could need, and very private. The house was comfortable, everything updated and lovely! absolutely beautiful pool and deck over-looking Charlotte Amalie. Definitely recommend having a car though, as the east end beaches are a good 15-20 minute drive. Otherwise, SUPERB!

Villa Review For Flag Hill

Guest

"This is a great place to stay -- and wonderful for a wedding"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2011

This villa was in a great, great location! It was close to town and all of the action. We enjoyed watching the cruise ships come in daily, and the night view was spectacular! If you also need to choose a wedding location, you must stay here and have your wedding here, too. The view, with the infinity pool and mountains in the background, was breathtaking! We had plenty of room for the reception, which was a sit down dinner. This lovely home added to the wonderful memories of St. Thomas we will always cherish. Ventana is the place!

Villa Review For Flag Hill

Guest

"My heart is here"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2011

Memories of my stay will last forever. Six dear friends and I came to St. Thomas for my 50th birthday party. This was the perfect choice for me. The views were to die for. The cruise ships pulling into port were great, but the night lights from the decks are what got me hooked on St. Thomas. This location is set on Flag Hill. It is close to town, Red Hook and most any place you would want to go. I have been back to St. Thomas every year since then. If I could, I would buy this place and move there forever! While in St. Thomas, we went shopping in the diamond area (everyone walked away with some new bling, including grandma). Tried "Screamin Eagle" in Havensight, parasailing near Ritz Carlton through Caribbean Water Sports.

Villa Review For Princess Quarters

Guest

"Every last detail was thought of here"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2012

We like to stay at great places, but I am revising my definition of luxury travel after staying here. Everything was fine quality and you can tell the place was built with love and a lot of creativity. There are plenty of areas to lounge in the shade, rafts for the pool, sofas that swivel to view the sunset, every possible small appliance, great linens, etc. The sunsets from the top deck breezeway were gorgeous and in late afternoon it's surprisingly cool there. There is a terrace for every day of the week to enjoy morning coffee and fans everywhere. Virgin Gorda is a great island as well. The beaches were almost deserted. Although this place isn't close to the beach, it is very private so that makes up for it. I can't think of any downside to this place and that's unusual for me since I'm a bit of a snobby traveler! I have met my match...

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

"Tcaribbean at its best"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2012

Our vacation here was everything a week in the Caribbean should be: Lots of sun, incredible snorkeling, great hikes, and plenty of relaxation. A 10-15 minute power walk from the giant volcanic boulders of The Baths, this villa is literally built on the rocks. The architecture wraps the house around the terrain's natural granite formations. Private bedroom suites with open-air showers ensured a blissful experience. The housekeeper kept the place spotless. The beach is a very short stroll down the lane. (Short enough that it's not tough to carry a cooler of beverages, snorkel gear, and a beach umbrella.) Piles of granite boulders on either end of the beach limit access and create privacy. We rented two SUVs for our group of eight. Spanish Town is a short drive down the hill, and offers a supermarket, bakery, liquor store, and marina for access to ferries and excursions. We bought groceries for breakfast and lunch and provisions for sunset on the deck. Sunsets were gorgeous! We dined out most evenings and were surprised at how this tiny island could have so many good restaurants. Can't wait to go back!

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

"Luxury Living on beautiful, unexplotied land"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2012

What a fantastic, luxurious spot for our little family gathering! Villa On the Rocks helped smooth out many of the trials and tribulations of turning 60 and 70. We were a group of four siblings with spouses that rejuvenated our spirits at this amazing spot. My wife and I made our way to Virgin Gorda from a country in the far north. If the Vikings had gotten their bearings right, Virgin Gorda would have been Swedish. But it is not. During the month of November we spend many of our waking hours in Sweden in darkness. There is a great need to find a spot for some "sun therapy" and Villa On the Rocks gave us this opportunity. What a relaxing spot! The patio was perfect for early morning coffee while viewing the waters and many other islands in the area. And the sunsets were indescribable. Being avid sailors we enjoyed watching the sailboats in the area. The villa offered each couple their own suite so there was never any feeling of being crowded. Each had an outdoor shower - some with a view and others imbedded in the rocks and bushes in the garden. The suites were very separate from each other. The common areas for preparing food, lounging, and dining gave plenty of space for the eight of us. Being that the villa is located on a hill there were nice breezes. All of the suites had air-conditioning and with fans located throughout the villa. We were never overheated. The garden around the villa includes flowering vegetation, trees, and some of the beautiful rocks that have made Virgin Gorda famous. Some of the various rooms in the villa are even built around these rocks. After a short walk down a little road and path, the beautiful boulders and beaches present themselves. There is good snorkelling and, of course, swimming directly from the beach. The villa has snorkel equipment available in all sizes. Extra towels for both the beach and the pool were available. The service to the villa was great. Any questions or needs were addressed immediately. We were surprised at how many things the island had to offer - good restaurants, grocery stores, hiking paths, day trips to other islands, etc. We had visited the island about 20 years ago - but only from a sailboat. We never imagined that there were so many things available.

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

"Villa Spectacular"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2012

Our stay at was beyond all expectations. The facility is top notch designed with comfort, privacy, and leisure priorities. It is clean and well maintained. We particularly enjoyed watching the sun go down over Sir Francis Drake Channel and the lights of distant islands and cruise ships coming on as the dark descended. The location close to ocean beaches and The Baths is prime. I would highly recommend this unique, natural villa for an island getaway and relaxation.

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

You've come to the right place"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2012

Although it's been several months since my stay, I was recently reminded of how lucky I am to have spent a much-need week of relaxation in this villa. Photographs hardly do justice to the property's breathtaking views and sprawling, spacious footprint -- i couldn't believe I was only a short flight from New York City. Unlike more populous destinations in the Caribbean, Virgin Gorda captures the glorious simplicity of island life, and this unique villa provided the ideal setting to bask in its serenity. The property felt private but accessible, with a semi-exclusive beach just steps away that afforded soft sands, excellent snorkeling, and incredible sunsets. While local restaurants were only a short cab ride away, I was happy to stay-in as the main house played host to a number of veritable feasts (thanks to a lavishly-appointed kitchen) among good friends. Thinking back on this trip, my only regret is that I haven't been back yet.

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

"Perfect Week in Paradise"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2012

After looking at the pictures leading up to my week stay, my expectations were high. Surely the bedrooms, amenities and sunset views would not live up to the perfect photos I had seen on the website. However I do not exaggerate when I say that our actual experience far surpassed what we anticipated from looking at these amazing pictures. The house was absolutely perfect, with everything we could have possibly wanted at our disposal; if we didn't want to explore the beautiful island, we could have stayed at this unique villa for the entire week. The pool, the kitchen, the patio, the bedrooms - all were above and beyond what we needed for the week in beautiful Virgin Gorda. Access to the private beach only made it harder to leave. The entire property was straightened up and cleaned each morning, which was also great. I hope to stay here again with all my heart!

Villa Review For Little Trunk Bay

Guest

"Perfection in Paradise"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2012

Located only a hop, skip and step from the pristine Virgin Gorda beaches, this unique property, built into the existing rock, boasts some of the most amazing views on the island. A 30-second walk to the beautiful sandy beaches, the house, which includes every amenity imaginable, is designed such that from every room you have tremendous views of the water. Nothing is spared in the design of the home and the amenities offered on the property are unparalleled—each bedroom has a custom built stone outdoor shower, the pool has a cascading waterfall and the expansive chef's kitchen and outdoor grill served well for our evening sunset feasts. Add in, Agata, our lovely cleaning lady, and Bernadette, our house manager, the property was in pristine condition from arrival to departure. Whether you want to snorkel (gear provided), lounge on the beach or just relax by the pool--the perfect island getaway and I will hopefully be fortunate to enough to return next year.

Villa Review For Little Trunk Beach

Guest

I highly recommend the villa

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2010

This won't be a formal trip report, but just wanted to post that we just got back a few days ago from a 10 day stay. We had a great time at the villa and on VG. We'll definitely be back. It was an ideal trip and ideal villa. The villa was spectacular in every way (except slow internet, but I guess that's par for the course on VG). When I have some time I'll upload a bunch of photos and add on to this thread. Most of our activities were lounging around and walking on the beaches (at least 3-4 are an easy barefoot walk from this villa). We took two boat excursions with Dive BVI and had a great time (we did the snorkeling tour and the trip to Anegada -- yum to the lobster!). We cooked ourselves most nights (shopping was a challenge as those of you who have been there probably know). The only meals we had out were one meal on Anegada and one meal at the Top of the Baths restaurant. I highly recommend the villa (though it is pricey) and recommend the island too, of course.

Villa Review For Nail Bay Beach

Guest

"Could not believe how wonderful this property was"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2011

This was our first time to rent a villa for a vacation, and we chose nail bay because it could give us three bedrooms, pool, beachfront, privacy, with the main building being a place our group could come together in the evenings. I have to say the property was absolutely beautiful. The accommodations were everything we could have hoped for. Steps to the beach. Not great for just swimming- lots of rocks and coral, but excellent for snorkeling! Savanna bay is very close and perfect for those who want to swim. Some people did the hike, but if you are planning to see much of the island, you will need a rental car. The staff at Nail Bay were just wonderful, especially KASHA! She answered every question I asked before the trip, and took care of many details like stocking groceries for our villa. I could not get over the customer service from the staff at nail bay! Outstanding! I recommend eating at Chez Bamboo in Spanish town. Excellent food and atmosphere. We really enjoyed this vacation, and just so you know, they have in the villa several TVs wifi, and tons of games. I would suggest bringing your own music CDs. We were not crazy about our choices, but they also have a docking station for your iPod so we could get our Lady Ga Ga fix! The pool is great too smile

Villa Review For Nail Bay Beach

Guest

"Wish I was back in Nail Bay right now"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2011

Nail Bay was wonderful. It's in a beautiful, quiet spot on Virgin Gorda with epic views of the Caribbean. We stayed in the Sea Glass House, and loved it. Plenty of common space to hang around in, nice big open kitchen, washer and dryer (which is key if you have little ones,) wonderful outdoor space. The location was very quiet, very private, and had incredible views of the Sir Francis Drake Channel. Full, open, 180 degree views. Beautiful, beautiful spot. Some of the other houses are closer to the beach - though they also have great views - but we liked the higher vantage point, the opportunity to really see a long way. The staff was unfailingly relaxed, courteous, timely, and helpful. They were very sweet to our 2 and a half year old son, he loved going down to the pool/office area just for that reason. Couldn't have hoped for a nicer group of people. We've been going to Virgin Gorda for a long time, typically staying in The Valley. But we're now fully sold on Nail Bay. We'll absolutely stay there when we go back. Can't recommend it enough

Villa Review For Nail Bay Beach

Guest

"Perfect Honeymoon"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2011

Nail Bay is absolutely beautiful, and my husband and I just had the most wonderful honeymoon there! Of all the places in the British Virgin Islands that we saw on our trip, we liked Nail Bay the best. We stayed in the Sugar Mill rooftop suite, and the view was amazing, as was the place itself. The pictures on the Nail Bay website barely do it justice. The kitchen allowed us to eat in for most meals, there was a great beach within walking distance, and with the Tropical Tranquility package, we got a jeep that allowed us to explore the whole island. The staff at Nail Bay is wonderful and so friendly. They helped us to make dinner and activity reservations and could not have been nicer.

Villa Review For Havers Hill

Guest

"Beautiful Villa with awesome views"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2012

Quite comfortable as well as pretty. Our host, Barry, was so helpful and delightful. Rooms were pretty with views from each room. Private bath for each room. Access to wi-fi so you can stay in touch with family at home. I liked that it was really comfortable as well as pretty of a place to stay and the views were amazing. Stayed 7 nights and all were peaceful.

Villa Review For Little Bay Palace

Washington Crossing
Washington Crossing ,Unknown

"Best of the Best"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2011

We've been quite fortunate to have enjoyed some of the premier villas throughout the Caribbean in recent years and none have been more exquisite than this. From the gorgeous villa, to the breathtaking views, to the incredible cooking and service of Tony and Kate, everything was simply perfect. The villa provides complete privacy, 180 degree views of utter paradise, a short walk to a secluded beach and every amenity one could ask for. There was no reason to ever leave the property...except for the private boat trip over to the Soggy Dollar and Foxy's of course! If you are searching for a villa that will exceed your expectations in every way, head to Golden Pavilion. You will not be disappointed.

Villa Review For Little Bay Palace

Guest

"The ultimate Caribbean vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2010

Your own private Caribbean is the feel. Accommodations, location, views, amenities, and service are all five star. Kate and Tony are entertaining personalities who also provide the best in services. Kate is an accomplished cook and every meal is not only delicious but lovely in presentation. Tony is an experienced captain and they are both well versed in all things Caribbean. It is evident they have a love for what they do. The home is beautifully designed to accommodate a large group with both private and social spaces. There are secluded nooks and crannies where one may enjoy the grounds singly and there are outdoor spaces where your group may gather. The pool terrace is magnificent providing unending vistas with plenty of seating for both the sunlovers and the shade seekers. We were a group of 5 adult couples and thoroughly enjoyed the fire pit and the hot tub in the evenings as the sun set. The large upstairs lounge is a beautifully relaxing party room with incredible views. There is much to do on Tortola but we found nothing more attractive or enticing than staying put here. I encourage you to use the all-inclusive plan...our needs and wants were anticipated and met quietly, efficiently and with the highest satisfaction. Our appreciation to the owners who have created a beautifully and artfully decorated home with such a thoughtful layout in a priceless location managed by a wonderful couple. Thank you for sharing a golden oasis with the ten of us.

Villa Review For Little Bay Palace

Guest

"I never want to go anywhere else"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2011

This was my second trip with my family here. Everything there is perfect from the beautiful decor, to the fantastic architecture, the amazing secluded site, the infinity pool that truly looks out into the ocean, the magnificent view, the wonderful luxuriousness of the accommodations from bedding to towels to toiletries, etc It's very luxurious living - yet incredibly comfortable as everything you can think of is at your fingertips. There is a rec room, entertainment room, amazing outdoor living areas, a gym. We even had a yoga teacher come and lead a class every morning. The Managers, Tony and Kate, make you feel completely cared for and cater to whatever your needs and interests. Kate is a magnificent chef and can design around any dietary restrictions or can make all of your favorites! All without you having to think of anything. Tony knows the whole island and area. He is a great captain and brought us to the best snorkeling area - where we had the whole amazing coral reef to ourselves! Go there. You will love it. Perfect for a group as each bedroom is its own suite.

Villa Review For West End Cottage

Guest

"It is as good as it sounds"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2012

We stayed on Little Thatch Island in late January. It was fantastic! Jon and Katy are a dynamite team! Along with their staff, they provided outstanding service. The cottage is exactly as advertised. It’s quaint and located on the very edge of the water. The beach is perfect. Although going to Tortola is very easy, we spent almost all of our time relaxing on Little Thatch. Jon was able to provide very good ingredients so I did a lot of cooking on the grill at the cottage. That meant we had most of our meals at the waterside table for two you see at just about every site describing the cottage and island. It’s a great atmosphere to say the least. We spent most of our time on the beach, did a little snorkeling and kayaking, and even hiked a little bit. But mostly we relaxed. We will definitely return.

Villa Review For Smugglers Cove

Guest

"Best vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2010

My husband and 6 of our children, along with Uncle Terry, spent 10 days at here in June, 2010. The Villa is fantastic! The incredible sunset views itself were worth the visit. We were close to the ocean, just a 30 second walk, and the boat jetty served us well with our small boat. We could also walk to the smuggler's cove beach with very little effort. We went snorkeling everyday off the jetty, and our children had a wonderful time. They all came back with beautiful sun tans. My suggestions to Mom's, bring sunscreen, and make them use it. Also, you can live in your bathing suit and cover up so don't over pack. You will have plenty of beach towels, and snorkel equipment at the villa, so you don't need to pack that either. We dressed for dinner, but it wasn't necessary, most places are very casual. But I brought a lot of sundresses and had to use them, of course. Next time I will pack only a few vital necessities, and live in my swim suit most of the time. We were there at the beginning of hurricane season and did experience some mighty big storms, but they were not dangerous to us, and beautiful to watch under the shelter of the pergola at the villa. Splendid estate, splendid accommodations, just lovely, I can't wait to return.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Centerville, VA
Centerville,VA

"Heaven on Earth (well, at least on St. John)"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2010

My wife and I stayed at Mooncottage in October and had an absolutely wonderful time. The villa is beautiful and the view from the front deck will keep you transfixed for hours. There were days when we never left, basking in the sun, and enjoying the pool (and a few rum and cokes). The journey up to the villa can be interesting, but you are close to some beautiful beaches, Skinny Legs (a must for a burger and beer), and far enough away where you can feel like the only one on the island. I have stayed at a few other villas on the island, but I will come back to Mooncottage.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"True R&R in the perfect island get away"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2010

The drive up was an adventure, but well worth it. The cottage landscape was a gorgeous welcome. The home itself was immaculate. The wrap around deck offered unbelievable views at every angle. The craftsmanship of the home was something to behold, with so much attention to detail. Since the home sits at Coral Bay, we were able to experience true island living. The house amenities made it easy to prepare our own dinners to enjoy without having to leave. And the location was convenient enough to venture out and enjoy a few of the island restaurants. Given the size of the island, all of it's beaches are fairly close by. We really enjoyed packing a cooler and beach chairs and taking in one of the nearby beaches for the day. Most days, we had the beach to ourselves and the snorkeling was spectacular. In summary, we were looking for an island get away to escape the day to day hustle and bustle and Mooncottage was the perfect find.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Woodstock, GA
Woodstock,GA

"No place like it!"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  March 2010

We are anxiously awaiting our 4th trip to Mooncottage! We have been for the last 3 years and really nothing I write here can describe it fully. You need to spurge and go experience it for yourself. What you see in the pictures you will get to experience! The beautiful views that change each day with the sun, moon and stars! The trip starts with your tour from Cruz Bay to Mooncottage by Jeff or Candi who are both experts on St. John. You really do need the 4 wheel drive car to make it up and down the road to Mooncottage. That is part of the experience! Once you arrive you are stunned by the wonderful gardens and the view. My favorite thing at Mooncottage are the wind chimes that add to the wonderful sounds made by the "creatures" in the area. A must is to see the sunrise at least once while you are there. Also plan to cook some meals and enjoy a night or two relaxing with the wonderful lighting at Mooncottage and a night time swim in the pool. I could go on and on about this place; however, I will end by saying that it is WONDERFUL and Brian has thought of everything to make your stay one of the best memories of a life time.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Amazing Vacation"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2010

Mooncottage is the ideal spot for a memorable vacation. Everything was as promised and exceeded expectations. The house was spotless and beautifully decorated. The views are gorgeous. I will definitely return.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Fairview, NC
Fairview,NC

"A Very Magical Place "

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary at Mooncottage the last week of April, and I must say, it will live in our memories forever. Mooncottage is nothing short of perfection! After Jeff met us at the ferry landing in Cruz Bay and escorted us to the house, we settled in for the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. I knew from the first moment I saw Mooncottage on the internet it would be perfect for us. The house is truly a labor of love and it shows everywhere.....from the thoughtful design to the gorgeous decorating. From the fantastic lighting at night to the refreshing pool. Even the wind chimes were exceptional and unlike any we had ever heard. And,the list goes on and on and on. Did I mention the view? Absolutely phenomenal! Having traveled quite a bit and having seen our share of unbelievable views....the plains of Africa at sunset, the Parthenon in Athens, the grand wilderness of Alaska and the white sugar-cubed houses in the Greek Isles, I must say,the view at Mooncottage whether it be day or night, ranks right up at the top of our list!! We never grew tired of it and I miss it even as I write this review. Incredible!!! Thanks you Brian for all of your attention to detail and sharing Mooncottage with us. We loved every single minute we were there and look forward to our return. But until then, we will treasure our beautiful memories of our wedding anniversary at magical Mooncottage forever.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Mooncottage was fantastic."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2010

I am always anxious when booking a vacation outside of the well worn channels of a resort, but Brian Vandenbroucke quickly put my mind at ease with personal calls and attention to my concerns. He and his team were available at all times for questions and guided us to this secluded bit of heaven. The house is well maintained, clean and every bit as beautiful as it appears on the website. As advertised it is a romantic couples only home, I would not have wanted to have my kids there. It is perfectly secluded. There is no other house visible (except across coral bay, miles away), and nobody comes calling. I awoke at 5:30 to 6:00 every morning (not because I had to) to see the most fantastic sunrises. I ran the trail to Rams Head early one morning, and it was so beautiful I hiked it later that day with the wife. We sailed and snorkeled on "The Breath". We explored Maho Bay, Haulover Bay and Salt Pond beaches. We spent one whole day just lounging in Mooncottage (maybe the best day!!). There were some concerns about not having air conditioning, but I can honestly say that even with full mid-day sun, the house was cool and comfortable inside, it is at such altitude that there is a constant cool breeze. To write a complete review I would have to find something to gripe about (it is hard)...despite being fully screening a few mosquitos can find their way in, and I did not figure out until the last night that I could turn up the fan over the bed and that effectively keeps any stray mosquitos off.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

San Diego, CA
San Diego,CA

"The best choice I made regarding the wedding...besides my wife."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2010

Mooncottage is fantastic. Despite such a fantastic website showing it's gorgeous views, nothing can stand up to the first time you walk out onto the balcony. The view of Coral Bay and Hurricane Hole is unparalleled. It is an absolute treasure. This is of course to say nothing of the fact that St. John itself is a beautiful gem far exceeding my expectations and light years away from the hustle and bustle of St. Thomas. Remember that this isn't your run of the mill resort, you are truly experiencing life as a local. That means that yes, you might have to cook your own food and no, the bed won't be made for you, but the privacy and serenity that Mooncottage offers is well worth the lack of maids and chefs. Driving up to Mooncottage is an adventure in itself, be sure to grab a 4x4 because the Chrysler Sebring you just rented will not make it up there. At night it can be a bit noisy due to all the bugs, lizards, frogs, and other wildlife. Remember where you are though and it is hard to complain. Check the cabinets in the kitchen for bug swatters, it will be a vendetta well worth it after you have been bitten by swarms of mosquitoes. If you can't handle it, go vacation somewhere else. Mooncottage is truly a sanctuary, beautiful decorations, a wonderful pool, and the freedom to do as you please with no neighbors around. It is freedom incarnate. We plan to return when we can. It was truly a wonderful time. Let's put it this way, I would rather not rant and rave about it online, because I would hate for it to get so popular that I can't get a reservation. Mooncottage is perfection.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Heaven on Earth"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2010

St. John is an incredibly special place, and Mooncottage is an even more amazing home to stay in while there. The pictures seriously do not to justice to the gorgeous view. We dipped in the pool every morning and evening, enjoyed cocktails and coffee on the porch, cooked every single night in the kitchen and on the grill, used the snorkeling gear and coolers to go to the beach each day, and enjoyed lots and lots of romance in this private and beautiful getaway. The open design, lighting, layout and decor all contribute to the romantic and unique feeling of the house. On top of all of this, so many details are thought of -- Jeff, who met us at the ferry, showed us around Cruz and Coral Bay, waited for us while we grocery shopped, and drove us up to the house and toured us around the grounds. There is a small comptuer to check email and stay in touch. There are Dvds to watch movies, hand weights you can use to work out, and great books and maps that helped us plan many adventures on the island. The location is terrific and we enjoyed many beaches on the East End as well as afternoon happy hours in Coral Bay. I made my new wife promise we'd come back many times in the future. It's such a special and gorgeous place.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"25th anniversary"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2010

My wife and I stayed at Mooncottage for our 25th anniversary. Our stay was wonderful and our expectations were exceeded. It's an outstanding facility, exceptional location & hosted by folks willing to do anything to ensure you have the best visit possible. My wife and I strongly recommend Mooncottage.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Unknown, NC

"A truly beautiful and relaxing place"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  October 2010

When my wife and I first arrived on St John it was the complete opposite of St Thomas. We were a little concerned at the airport and the ride to the ferry that this was not going to be what we had dreamed of. Laid back, quiet, not caring about time. St John was a breath of fresh air. The first place we stop was at a small bar to get a drink and was met by... He was more than helpful. He took us on a tour of the island with the main goal of getting us to Mooncottage. The ride up the mountain was perfect. A bouncy dirt road just added to the initial experience. My wife was laughing the whole time. At the entrance to the property is a pin coded gate for security/privacy. When we walked into the cottage I could not believe what I was gazing upon. The view from the balcony is tremendous! Not a place in the world have I seen something so peaceful and beautiful. The cottage itself was perfect. The design and layout was just right. My wife said she wanted one! The pool is perfect for just the two of us. With plenty of privacy to enjoy yourselves. The kitchen was great, and a small store down the hill has all that you need. In short, wow! Mooncottage is everything it says it is and so much more. Enjoy it. We will be back.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Silver Spring, MD
Silver Spring,MD

"Perfect Honeymoon"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2010

Mooncottage is a lovely secluded house that over looks the stunning water of Coral Bay and the surrounding islands. The house was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities you could need. The views were phenomenal to say the least. This house is perfect for people that just want to get away from it all but still experience first class accommodations. I will never forget this vacation and plan on making many more trips to this fantastic getaway in paradise

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"The place of your dreams."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2010

Is it worth it? That was the first question I had when discovering Mooncottage online. I have always been drawn to those private, out of the way places when searching for vacation destinations. Woodland cabins, beach homes, lakefront cottages in all parts of the country and now a new prospect. Would Mooncottage be a good bet? The website seemed well prepared with professional looking 360 degree photos of what appeared to be a special place with beautiful views. So I took the gamble. Upon arriving at Mooncottage after a fun and sporting four wheel drive up a twisting road, or was it a goat path, all my inhibitions vanished. This was the most beautiful and unique place I had ever visited. This is the place I have always strived for; peace, quiet and solitude. Totally private setting with many little private areas within Mooncottage itself. If you are looking for that special place of your dreams, Mooncottage is it. If you still want contact with a slow paced, friendly civilization it is a short, four wheel drive away. St John offers some very beautiful beaches, great snorkeling, diving, beautiful hiking, fine restaurants, casual waterfront dining, a very well supplied grocery, and a superb liquor store with a wide selection of fine wines, spirits, and beer. But the best part is the beauty and solitude of your very own oasis back at Mooncottage. To answer my two earlier questions; Mooncottage was a sure bet worth every penny!!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Romantic secluded tasteful mountainside incredible views"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2010

Brian did an incredible job of building a 5 star experience in an extremely remote location. The views from this high mountainside cottage overlooking Coral Bay and the Bvis are awesome. Wood, marble tile, stucco and rock walls, landscaping, furnishings and appliances all first rate and tastefull. Perfect romantic hideaway if you value nature, beauty, and seclusion. Great hiking and snorkelling nearby. Not for someone looking for an in-town vacation with lots of shopping and nightlife. There are a few restaurants and some music nearby, but sophisticated dining and shopping is a winding 40 minute drive away. Make sure that you stock up on provisions in Cruz Bay before arriving at the cottage.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia,PA

"An exceptional week on St. John"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  August 2011

Hello Brian, Well, we are readying ourselves for the shock of leaving this island paradise tomorrow after enjoying our stay enormously. I have never been in a house built with such attention to both functional and aesthetic design, painstaking workmanship, and carefully selected materials. Your furnishings perfectly complement the space. I read your picture by picture account of the seven year construction ordeal. My recent nightmare of building a custom house in Tucson was trumped by your experience many times over! But I hope you have a full sense of your success in making Mooncottage a reality. Your creation is an inspiration and an accomplishment of a lifetime. We hope to be back and to send our friends to you in the meantime. Best regards, A very happy traveler

Villa Review For Mooncottage

St. Paul, MN
St. Paul,MN

"Special Place"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2011

We first went to Moon Cottage five years ago as a splurge for our 35th anniversary, returning in 2009 and again this year, using our 40th anniversary as the excuse. St. John is an amazingly beautiful island and Moon Cottage is a jewel in the crown. Just waking up every morning to the sunrise and extraordinary view is good for the soul. Very secluded/private, well appointed. I thought I would miss being right on a beach but the view and lovely little pool compensate.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Minnetonka, MN
Minnetonka,MN

"Mooncottage--the name alone sets the tone."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  April 2011

We have been traveling the Caribbean for 30 years visiting many islands and homes searching for that spot of heaven that takes care of the vacation needs of both of us. We agree that Mooncottage is one of those special spots. Not only does it offer complete and quiet seclusion with fabulous views (husband requirement) and quirky, unique and delicious restaurants a short drive away (wife requirement), it is a fun adventure to climb the mountain to the Zen-like retreat. Along with privacy, there is much comfort, cleanliness and daily ease of living. Brian has given much attention to detail that made our stay most enjoyable. Everything was high quality and worked. We appreciated the plush and plentiful towels as well as the comfortable bed and pillows, wonderful mango bath soap and the fish pond. We did not feel a need to leave Mooncottage with the perfect-temperature pool, terrific stereo and TV system, beautiful kitchen, and creatively-designed lighting for mood and function. We had enchanting evenings, spectacular red sunrises and languid, warm days that re-energized our souls. We would highly recommend Mooncottage to slow down and enjoy the moment

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Portsmouth, RI
Portsmouth,RI

"Mooncottage: Five Stars in Every Way"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  February 2011

Mooncottage is special in every way. Our most recent visit (March, 2011) was our fourth or fifth (we've lost count) and it will not be our last. We have rented several villas on St. John and elsewhere in the Caribbean, including on Nevis and St. Barths. Considering all factors (convenient location, friendly people, the National Park beaches, restaurants, good value), St. John is the best and for a couple, Mooncottage is the best of St. John. Brian Vandenbroucke's seven year project has been spectacularly executed, down to every detail. The view from 700' up is mesmerizing, facing east/southeast over Hurricane Hole, Sir Francis Drake Channel on to Virgin Gorda to provide great light, but also protection from the heat of the late afternoon. The creative asian-influenced design and warm woodwork are pleasing to the eye and the lighting system adds to the mood. There is total privacy. With a well-equipped modern kitchen and other amenities it is tempting never to leave the cottage. But the beaches beckon, an average of about 15 minutes away. Our favorite is Jumby, on the North Shore. While the road up may be adventurous for some, recent improvements make it very easy, even returning from a candlelit dinner at our favorite St. John restaurant, Sweet Plantains, nearby. We have been fortunate to be able to enjoy Mooncottage almost every winter and are already cosnidering our next visit!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Valati, NY
Valati,NY

"Beautiful"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2011

This home is absolutely beautiful and totally private and romantic. The owner has it well stocked with everything you could possibly need or want. St. John has almost two different 'vibes' between the two sides of the island. This home is on the quieter, low key side- but there are a few bars and restaurants nearby- if you want to venture out.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Dreamy Cottage"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2012

My boyfriend and I were at Moon Cottage June 2011. It is everything we hoped it would be. I first described it as Eco-chic, but magical and dreamy are also true. Sometimes when looking for vacation rentals, the photos can be deceiving. Moon Cottage looks ever better in person. We loved the privacy, the beautiful pool, the romantic feel of the place. We hope to return soon!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Austin, TX
Austin,TX

"Trip of a lifetime"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2011

The Mooncottage was an incredible honeymoon experience. We were greeted at the ferry dock by Trip a nice gentleman who escorted us up to the Mooncottage. The road was steep (4wheel) but so much fun to travel, insert your sense of adventure here. When we finally arrived at our destination the view takes your breath away!! well worth the driveway trip. No pictures, or words can express how beautiful the Mooncottage and it's surroundings are, truly magical. If you are looking for a romantic getaway then look no further, the Mooncottage will be sure not to disappoint. The Moonagers Brian and Bob were great to work with and made sure the trip was everything we asked for.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Glouchester, MA
Glouchester,MA

"Ultimate view with un-disturbed romance"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  October 2011

The most spectacular thing about Moon Cottage, is the view - photos just don't give the full effect of leaning on the balcony rail and basking in the Caribbean beauty. Don't be afraid of the roads either - you have to climb, to get this view! Moon Cottage itself offers ultimate romance for a couple, un-disturbed by anything except birds, tree frogs and the occasional Hermit Crab. Bring a minimum of clothing, and enjoy the freedom of the sunshine and pool ... My wife and I returned from our week at Moon Cottage, very much relaxed - and tanned. A wonderful couples experience.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Guest

"Romantic Luxury"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  November 2011

Our trip didn't start off so great. Our flight was delayed 9 1/2 hours, we left Va at 5:30am and arrived in St.John after midnight. Thankfully Brian and his crew made it as painless as possible. They went to St. Thomas to pick up our rental jeep, then met us at the ferry, regardless of the late hour, to take us to the Mooncottage. We arrived late, exhausted, and not off to a great honeymoon! When we woke up in the morning all of the past night was forgotten. The view is breathtaking; the photos don't really do it justice. Perched high on a hill, overlooking sleepy Coral Bay. Every little detail of the villa is so beautiful and full of love. It's tucked away, private, and oh-so romantic. You don't feel like you are just in another hotel, it's beyond special. St. John itself is spectacular and so gorgeous. We spent our days snorkeling, beach hopping, sailing, eating and just enjoying each others company-perfection. The Mooncottage is full of tips and where to go, what to do, and great places to eat. Feel free to take the advice or just do your own exploring. Brian and Bob are just a call away if you need anything as well, nice to know if you have any specific questions or concerns. Our two weeks flew by and we were sad to leave. We are already planning our next trip to this beautiful place-love, love, love! Great honeymoon and perfect place to create memories of our first few months as husband and wife.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Concord, MA
Concord,MA

"Just as presented"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  December 2011

Peace and quiet, beautful surroundings, view you never tire of.What can we say, the owner's description is accurate and we enjoyed ourselves immensely

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Northborough, MA
Northborough,MA

Our Dream

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  Febuary 2012

Moon Cottage was a breath of fresh air and the most wonderful villa I could ever imagine. We were in awe upon arrival and immediately set in to relaxing and drinking in the quiet solitude and magnificent views. We didn't even get to the beach until 4 days after arrival - we just couldn't pull ourselves away from the peace and tranquility Moon Cottage offers. The location is amazing and there are just enough eating/drinking/music establishments in the immediate area to fulfill anyone's needs. Pilgrim (the cat) came to visit - opened the screen door and trotted on in to say Hi and trotted on out... my favorite welcome of the week! I'm afraid we didn't take full advantage of all the island has to offer because we couldn't pull ourselves away from Moon Cottage. Those explorations will have to wait for our return trip! I would recommend this villa to anyone wanting to re-connect with themselves, each other or just to forget about the stresses of everyday life in general for a week or more!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Milwaukee, MI
Milwaukee,MI

"You will not find a more stunning and romantic retreat"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  Febuary 2012

My wife and I traveled to Mooncottage in July for our honeymoon. Honestly, I don't know what I can say that hasn't already been said. Sometimes pictures make places look better than they really are - that is not the case with Mooncottage. After talking to Brian and looking at all of the stunning pictures we had high expectations. Every single one of those expectations was by far exceeded. The villa is absolutely beautiful - you can tell every detail was carefully considered. All of the colors seemed to fit so well with the natural surroundings. I also really liked the stone flooring; it felt great on bare feet. The pool was landscaped beautifully and lit up several different colors at night. The water temperature always seemed perfect! The villa was tucked back into the hillside (unlike many St. John homes) making it one of the most private and secluded locations you could imagine. As for the view, I don't know what I can say other than just book Mooncottage and see for yourself. I think you would have a hard time finding a more magnificent view anywhere. When we were trying to decide where to go for our honeymoon we had a couple hesitations about Mooncottage. We were concerned about the lack of air conditioning, possibility for mosquitos, and the condition of the driveway up to Mooncottage. No air conditioning turned out fine for us. There was an almost constant breeze that kept us cool. If we got too warm we just went in the pool. It did feel a bit muggy a couple of nights, but we expected that and it really wasn't a bother to us. I think we only saw a dozen mosquitos the entire week we were there and the driveway up to Mooncottage isn't paved the entire way, but is totally doable with four wheel drive. I actually enjoyed the drive up, it really helps you appreciate how secluded Mooncottage is. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Mooncottage to anyone. We hope to return someday soon!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Ipswitch, Suffolk
Ipswitch, Suffolk,England

"Everything we hoped it would be..."

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  January 2012

Had a magical week at Mooncottage to celebrate silver wedding year. Its a long long way to go from the UK but we were just blown away by the splendour of the location and the relaxed , easy paced life of the Island. Loved St John. No hotels, quiet windy roads that are fun to drive on , amazing beaches, great restaurants and bars, relaxed informal lifestyle. And Mooncottage is everything it looks on the website, you really could spend all day on that balcony from the moment the sun comes up in spectacular fashion to when it sets behind you , throwing its full light on all the islands in front of you. There isn't an hour during the day when you don't find a slightly different nuance to the breathtakingly spectacular and peaceful view that confronts you. Downsides? Well, the airport on St Thomas is a nightmare : rude, disorganised and stressful ...everything Mooncottage and St John isn't! And , everything is pretty expensive (groceries in particular). But all that is way too small to get in the way of enjoying a very special place on a beautiful Island. We will return...

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Scotia, PA
Scotia,PA

"A fabulous vacation stay in St. John at Mooncottage!"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  Febuary 2012

We traveled to St John to celebrate Eric's 50th birthday...we are hooked! St John and our stay Mooncottage was such a dream, it is even more beautiful in person than what we fell in love with on the website! Bob, the property manager, met us in Cruz Bay and guided us to Mooncottage. We traveled via the Northshore Road so we were sure to see the best views and get oriented to the layout of St John. Mooncottage is a very special, spiritual place. You can see and feel the thoughtful attention that was given to the development of the site, selection of building materials, layout of the structures and gardens. Everyday to wake up and sit on the porch and watch the sun come up, see the sailboats venture out into the bay and to see the cruise ships come into Tortola was just awesome. We enjoyed the use of the binoculars to see the boats and ships. We usually ventured out during the day to explore the island then went back to Mooncottage to relax in the pool, which was very serene and private, and listen to music and to reconnect...we would never have guessed that the CD collection would include our favorites, Frank Sinatra and the Indigo Girls! The wood flute music was great too. This was the first vacation we have taken in 18 years that neither of us were ready to come home. (We have been looking for property since we got home!) We hope to return and feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to visit such a special place. Put it on your bucket list!

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Liberty, MO
Liberty,MO

"An amazing celebration of 25 years together"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  May 2012

25 years together merits an amazing experience. It deserves a chance to share and enjoy a place that feels like magic, where two people can be as happy together as they are every day, with little to care for other than each other. Love is a beautiful thing that requires much hard work, but done right is more amazing than anything one can feel. Moon Cottage is that kind of experience. The breath taking views with amazing early morning sunrises, the care that went into the location choice and the construction of this beautiful island villa, the warmth felt every second spent in this heart wrenching love nest, made the celebration of 25 years spent with the most amazing woman so special. The views, oh the views were just amazing. The private spot at just the right location was as much as anyone could ask for. Thanks to Brian for building this wonderful home. Thanks to Bob for the scenic tour of the North side of the island on our way and the genuine care and concern he showed us as soon as we arrived. This was exactly how a celebration of 25 years should be spent.

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Hopely, TX
Hopely,TX

"Dream a little dream come true"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  June 2012

Mooncottage was more than we could have ever dreamed it to be! What an amazing place to celebrate 25 years of marriage! The peace and tranquility of Mooncottage was a total Zen experience, a perfect place to refresh our spirits and rejuvenate our souls! It's like a dream that you never want to wake from. From the moment you arrive the amazing views & blowing breezes beckon you to take a deep breath and relax. The pool is so serene and perfect for a refreshing dip anytime. Even the drive to Mooncottage is an experience you'll never forget! Very private and you feel as though you are the only ones on the island. Everything was provided to allow yourself to totally get away from it all and do as little or as much as your heart desires. Mooncottage provided us the opportunity to stop in time and reflect on our 25 years together. It was all we were hoping for and more! It truly is a magical place that will leave you with wonderful memories of St. John and plan for your return...

Villa Review For Mooncottage

Moon Township, PA
Moon Township,PA

"Revitalizing"

Rated  54321  Submitted  February 22 2013  Stayed  September 2012

I started out with a concept for our week away - not looking for a particular place, but rather an idea. I simply Googled what I was looking to find. I used words and phrases like secluded, quiet, isolated, Caribbean, beaches, mountains, private villas. One of the first places to come up was Moon Cottage in St. John. The pictures were almost too perfect to be real. In fact, it was almost too perfect, so I continued looking. I found places that were less money, I found places that were more money but I took a chance and followed the road less traveled by, as Robert Frost said, 'And that has made all the difference'. Moon Cottage in person was better than any of the pictures that lead me here. Pictures cannot provide you with the cool breeze that comes up the mountain side at all times of the day. There is no man made air conditioning, it is not necessary and would be an unwelcome redundancy to the openness of Moon Cottage. After an arrival welcome from Bob McNabb, our local contact, we never saw another person unless we took our Jeep down the mountain. I took off my watch, shut off my cell phone and we completely lost track of time. We got up when the sun crept over the horizon and laid down whenever we were drowsy. On one trip down the mountain we stopped for lunch at a local bistro. The waitress informed us that they were not serving today until 3:00PM. We both looked at the young girl and asked what time it was - and then asked what day it was. That was the magic of our time at Moon Cottage. It was an awesome experience and one that we hope other couples will take the time to enjoy - whether you are just starting out together or whether you have already spent a lifetime together. You can read all the reviews and all the recollections that people have shared about their time at Moon Cottage, but unless you experience it for yourself, they are just words and pictures - and they do not come close to what my wife and I took with us when we returned home.

Romantic Luxury Villas offers you a limited, boutique villa collection of only the most romantic private villa rentals from any one destination around the world. Only romantic villas that possess that something SPECIAL will do—hand-picked private villa rentals chosen for their unique beauty, quality and locale.